spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress launched to space station
Posted: Sun, Apr 26 12:44 PM ET (1644 GMT)
A Russian Progress cargo spacecraft docked with the International Space Station early Saturday, less than three and a half hours after launch. A Soyuz-2....

FCC defers decision on new orbital debris regulations
Posted: Sun, Apr 26 12:43 PM ET (1643 GMT)
The FCC deferred a decision Thursday on a wide range of new orbital debris regulations. Commissioners were set to vote on new, more stringent regulations,...

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Apr 24 10:48 AM ET (1448 GMT)
SpaceX successfully launched 60 Starlink satellites Wednesday afternoon. The Falcon 9 lifted off from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida at 3:30 pm EDT (...

Iran launches military satellite
Posted: Fri, Apr 24 10:32 AM ET (1432 GMT)
Iran announced Wednesday that it launched a small military satellite into orbit. The country's Revolutionary Guard said the three-stage Qased rocket placed a...

FCC approves Ligado network over GPS interference objections
Posted: Fri, Apr 24 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)
The FCC approved Ligado's 5G network Monday despite concerns about potential interference with GPS. The FCC gave its approval for a nationwide network by...

NASA announces May 27 launch date for SpaceX Demo-2 mission
Posted: Sun, Apr 19 10:29 AM ET (1429 GMT)
NASA said Friday it had set a May 27 launch date for SpaceX's crewed test flight of its Crew Dragon spacecraft. The mission, called...

Soyuz returns ISS crew to Earth
Posted: Sun, Apr 19 10:28 AM ET (1428 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft returned three people form the International Space Station early Friday. The Soyuz MS-15 spacecraft landed in Kazakhstan at 1:16 am...

Russia tests anti-satellite weapon
Posted: Sun, Apr 19 10:26 AM ET (1426 GMT)
Russia tested an anti-satellite (ASAT) weapon Wednesday, drawing a strong rebuke from the US military. The test of the direct-ascent ASAT, a ballistic...

Synspective to launch first satellite with Rocket Lab
Posted: Sun, Apr 19 10:25 AM ET (1425 GMT)
A Japanese synthetic aperture radar (SAR) startup will launch its first satellite with Rocket Lab rather than Arianespace. Rocket Lab announced Tuesday it signed a...

SoftBank offering loan to OneWeb
Posted: Sun, Apr 19 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)
SoftBank is offering a loan to OneWeb to keep the constellation company in business until it can sell its spectrum assets. SoftBank, OneWeb's largest...



news in brief
Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

H-2B launches HTV cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)

NASA human spaceflight head abruptly resigns
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 26
Richard Branson's Virgin Orbit rocket fails on debut test flight
London Evening Standard — 6:52 am ET (1052 GMT)
Shooting for the moon
Toledo Blade — 6:51 am ET (1051 GMT)
Richard Branson's Virgin Orbit fails in first attempt to launch rocket from jumbo jet
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 6:47 am ET (1047 GMT)
The Astronaut Wives Know Exactly What to Expect
The Atlantic — 6:46 am ET (1046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list