spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Blue Origin launches first crewed New Shepard mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:48 PM ET (2048 GMT)
Blue Origin successfully performed the first crewed launch of its New Shepard suborbital vehicle Tuesday with founder Jeff Bezos and three others on board. New...

China launches Yaogan-30 satellites
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:39 PM ET (2039 GMT)
China launched another set of Yaogan imaging satellites. A Long March 2C rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 8:19 pm...

Rocket Lab identifies cause of launch failure
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:37 PM ET (2037 GMT)
Rocket Lab says it's ready to return its Electron rocket to flight after tracking down the cause of a failure in May. The company...

Hubble Space Telescope resumes science operations
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:23 PM ET (2023 GMT)
The Hubble Space Telescope resumed science operations July 17 after a month-long outage. NASA said controllers successfully switched the telescope to a backup payload...

Measat communications satellite drifting in GEO
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:19 PM ET (2019 GMT)
Malaysian operator Measat says it's maintained control of an aging communications satellite that has drifted out of its slot in geostationary orbit. Measat-3...

House appropriators approve $25 billion for NASA in spending bill
Posted: Fri, Jul 16 7:17 PM ET (2317 GMT)
House appropriators passed a NASA spending bill Thursday after tweaking language regarding lunar landers and nuclear propulsion. The House Appropriations Committee passed a $81.3...

NASA issues nuclear thermal propulsion study contracts
Posted: Fri, Jul 16 7:16 PM ET (2316 GMT)
NASA awarded three contracts Tuesday to begin concept studies of nuclear thermal propulsion (NTP) systems. The contracts, each worth $5 million, went to teams led...

SEC reaches settlement with Momentus
Posted: Fri, Jul 16 7:15 PM ET (2315 GMT)
The Securities and Exchange Commission said Tuesday it's reached a settlement with Momentus and the SPAC it is merging with regarding false claims. The...

Branson flies on SpaceShipTwo suborbital flight
Posted: Fri, Jul 16 7:14 PM ET (2314 GMT)
Virgin Galactic founder Richard Branson flew to the edge of space on his company's SpaceShipTwo suborbital spaceplane Sunday. The SpaceShipTwo vehicle, named VSS Unity,...

NASA awards contract for HALO Gateway module
Posted: Fri, Jul 16 7:13 PM ET (2313 GMT)
NASA finalized a contract with Northrop Grumman to build the first habitation module for the lunar Gateway. The agency said Friday it issued a $935...



news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list