spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


First Firefly Alpha launch fails
Posted: Sat, Sep 4 1:06 PM ET (1706 GMT)
Firefly Aerospace's first Alpha launch ended with an explosion two and a half minutes after liftoff Thursday. The rocket lifted off from Vandenberg Space...

FAA grounds SpaceShipTwo to investigate issue on July flight
Posted: Sat, Sep 4 1:03 PM ET (1703 GMT)
The FAA has grounded Virgin Galactic's SpaceShipTwo while an investigation into a problem on the vehicle's July flight continues. The FAA said Thursday...

Landsat 9 launch delayed by LOX shortage
Posted: Sat, Sep 4 12:59 PM ET (1659 GMT)
NASA doesn't expect additional delays to the launch of the Landsat 9 spacecraft caused by a lack of liquid nitrogen at its launch site....

Falcon 9 launches Dragon cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sat, Sep 4 12:58 PM ET (1658 GMT)
A Dragon cargo spacecraft launched to the International Space Station after SpaceX's first launch in two months Sunday. A Falcon 9 lifted off from...

Astra Rocket 3.3 launch fails
Posted: Sat, Sep 4 12:57 PM ET (1657 GMT)
Astra's Rocket 3.3 failed to reach orbit Aug. 28 when a engine failed immediately after liftoff. The rocket lifted off at 6:35...

Indian GSLV launch fails
Posted: Fri, Aug 13 6:27 PM ET (2227 GMT)
The launch of an Earth imaging satellite on an Indian rocket failed when the rocket's upper stage engine did not ignite. The Geosynchronous Satellite...

Antares launches Cygnus cargo spacecraft
Posted: Fri, Aug 13 6:21 PM ET (2221 GMT)
A Cygnus cargo spacecraft is on its way to the International Space Station after a launch Tuesday afternoon. A Northrop Grumman Antares rocket lifted off...

Report: Artemis spacesuits won't be ready for 2024 landing
Posted: Fri, Aug 13 6:15 PM ET (2215 GMT)
The latest obstacle to NASA's plans to return humans to the moon in 2024 is the spacesuit the astronauts would wear. NASA's inspector...

First Perseverance sampling attempt comes up empty
Posted: Fri, Aug 13 6:13 PM ET (2213 GMT)
NASA is trying to understand why the first sampling attempt by its Perseverance Mars rover came up empty. NASA said late Aug. 6 that while...

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Fri, Aug 13 6:09 PM ET (2209 GMT)
China launched a GEO communications satellite Aug. 5. The Long March 3B lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 12:30 pm EDT (...



news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list