spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


New ISS solar panel deployed
Posted: Thu, Sep 14, 2006, 9:26 PM ET (0126 GMT)
STS-115: panel deployment (NASA) A new set of solar panels installed on the International Space Station earlier this week by the current shuttle mission successfully deployed Thursday. The panels, part of the P3/P4 truss segment added to the station this week, slowly unfurled on Thursday under command. The panels, 72 meters long, were fully deployed by 8:44 am EDT (1244 GMT). The deployment came after a pair of spacewalks on Tuesday and Wednesday that set up the truss segment, delivered to the station by the shuttle Atlantis. One more spacewalk foe the STS-115 mission is scheduled for Friday. Atlantis is scheduled to undock from the ISS on Sunday and return to Earth on Wednesday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list