spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches spysats, places them in wrong orbit
Posted: Fri, Jun 15, 2007, 9:43 PM ET (0143 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of MRO (ILS) An Atlas 5 lifted off Friday morning carrying two classified satellites, but apparently placed the spacecraft in the wrong orbit. The Atlas 5 401 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 11:12 am EDT (1512 GMT) carrying a classified payload officially only known as NROL-30. According to initial reports the launch went well and the payload, believed to be two naval reconnaissance satellites, separated from the Centaur upper stage as planned. However, late Friday the Air Force announced that there had been "a technical anomaly", which Aviation Week reported to be a premature shutdown of the Centaur. That problem meant that the two satellites were placed in the wrong orbit, but are otherwise functioning well and may be able to boost themselves into their correct orbit using their onboard thrusters. The cause of the problem has yet to be determined.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 20
Former SPAC Astra is Once Again a Private Company
ViaSatellite — 9:12 pm ET (0112 GMT)
California brushes off Elon Musk's plans to move X, SpaceX to Texas
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)
Elon Musk faces backlash over Boca Chica's 'Starbase, Texas' rebrand
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list