spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Asteroid passes near Earth
Posted: Tue, Jan 29, 2008, 6:08 AM ET (1108 GMT)
Asteroid 2007 TU24 (NASA/JPL) A small asteroid flew relatively near the Earth early Tuesday, providing scientists with an opportunity to study the object in detail. The asteroid 2007 TU24 made its closest approach to the Earth at 3:33 am EST (0833 GMT) Tuesday at a distance of about 538,000 kilometers, or about one and a half times the distance to the Moon. The asteroid, estimated to be about 250 meters in diameter, was discovered last October. The asteroid poses no impact risk to the Earth, and will not pass this close to the Earth again until at least the end of the century. Astronomers planned to use the flyby to study to make optical and radar observations of the asteroid.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship prototype makes first hop test
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:39 PM ET (2139 GMT)

Crew Dragon splashes down successfully
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:38 PM ET (2138 GMT)

Rocket Lab identifies cause of Electron failure
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:35 PM ET (2135 GMT)

news links
Friday, August 7
SpaceX Has Successful Overnight Starlink Mission Launch
Spectrum News — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list