spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ISS debris reenters over Pacific
Posted: Tue, Nov 4, 2008, 7:06 AM ET (1206 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2007 July 23 (NASA) A tank of ammonia jettisoned from the International Space Station over a year ago burned up over the South Pacific late Sunday, NASA officials said. The Early Ammonia Servicer, a 635-kilogram tank of ammonia coolant, burned up over the Pacific south of Tasmania at 11:51 pm EST Sunday (0451 GMT Monday). There were no reports of debris reaching the surface. The tank was removed from the station during a spacewalk in July 2007. It was originally designed to provide backup coolant to the station early in the assembly process in the event of a leak, but it was never needed and removed once the permanent cooling system was in place.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 21
Brussels mulls OneWeb stake to challenge Elon Musk's Starlink
The Daily Telegraph — 6:19 am ET (1019 GMT)
Rocket Ranch at Boca Chica offering closest stay to SpaceX launch
KVEO-TV Rio Grande Valley, TX — 6:16 am ET (1016 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list