spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches two satellites
Posted: Wed, Nov 5, 2008, 9:50 PM ET (0250 GMT)
Long March 2D launch of 2008 Nov 5 A Long March rocket Wednesday launched a pair of satellites designed for meteorological and earth sciences research. The Long March 2D lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center in northwest CHina at 7:15 pm EST Tuesday (0015 GMT Wednesday) and placed into low Earth orbit the Chuangxin 1-02 and Shiyan Satellite 3 spacecraft. Chuangxin 1-02, according to Chinese media accounts, will be used to collect hydrological and meteorological data for disaster relief and other applications. Shiyan Satellite 3, the larger of the two spacecraft launched, is intended to test "new technologies in atmospheric exploration". The launch, the third in less than two weeks by China, was not announced in advance.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 21
Brussels mulls OneWeb stake to challenge Elon Musk's Starlink
The Daily Telegraph — 6:19 am ET (1019 GMT)
Rocket Ranch at Boca Chica offering closest stay to SpaceX launch
KVEO-TV Rio Grande Valley, TX — 6:16 am ET (1016 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list