spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ISS crew performs spacewalk
Posted: Wed, Mar 11, 2009, 8:12 AM ET (1212 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2009 March 10 (NASA) Two members of the International Space Station's crew carried out a spacewalk Tuesday, performing several tasks outside the station in advance of upcoming Shuttle and Soyuz missions. Mike Fincke and Yury Lonchakov spent four hours and 48 minutes outside the ISS Tuesday on an EVA that wrapped up ahead of schedule at 5:11 pm EDT (2111 GMT). The two installed an experiment package on the exterior of the Zvezda module and also took photographs of the Russian segment of the station to document its condition. They also cut some loose straps near the docking port on the Pirs module to prevent them from interfering with spacecraft docking there. The third member of the current ISS crew, Sandra Magnus, monitored the EVA from inside the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 5
Virgin Orbit’s Next Rocket Ready for Cornwall
Business Wire — 6:10 am ET (1010 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list