spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


STS-119 launch postponed
Posted: Wed, Mar 11, 2009, 8:59 PM ET (0059 GMT)
STS-119: logo (NASA) Wednesday's scheduled launch of the space shuttle Discovery was scrubbed several hours before liftoff because of a hydrogen leak, pushing the launch back to no earlier than Sunday. During fueling of the shuttle's external tank engineers detected a leak associated with a gaseous hydrogen venting system. Because of the work needed to repair the problem, the launch has been pushed back to no earlier than March 15 at 7:43 pm EDT (2343 GMT). Work on the repair, and thus the ability to meet that Sunday launch date, will be reviewed Thursday afternoon. NASA has until no later than Tuesday to launch the shuttle before standing down until early April, to avoid conflicts with a Soyuz mission to the station planned for late March.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Wentian space station module
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:58 PM ET (2258 GMT)

SpaceX performs two Starlink launches
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:53 PM ET (2253 GMT)

European, Russian ISS crewmembers perform spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:48 PM ET (2248 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, August 10
Viasat / Inmarsat merger inquiry
UK Competition and Markets Authority — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
CMA adds heat to Viasat, Inmarsat merger
Mobile World Live — 6:26 am ET (1026 GMT)
Inmarsat deal to be investigated
The Times of London — 6:25 am ET (1025 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list