spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches additional ISS crew
Posted: Wed, May 27, 2009, 8:50 AM ET (1250 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-15 launch (ESA) A Soyuz rocket launched a spacecraft Wednesday carrying three new crewmembers for the International Space Station as the outpost expands its crew to six people for the first time. The Soyuz rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 6:34 am EDT (1034 GMT) and placed the Soyuz TMA-15 spacecraft into orbit nine minutes later. The spacecraft is scheduled to dock with the ISS on Friday. On board the spacecraft is Russian cosmonaut Roman Romanenko, ESA astronaut Frank De Winne, and Canadian astronaut Bob Thirsk. The three will join the three current members of the ISS crew, Gennady Padalka, Michael Barratt, and Koichi Wakata. This will mark the first time the ISS will have a six-person permanent crew.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 31
Maxar lands $8M Space Force contract
BizWest — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
DOD Creates New Top Space Policy Job
Air Force Magazine — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)
Can Space Force Be the First Military Branch Built for Women?
Air Force Magazine — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list