spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Hydrogen leak scrubs shuttle launch
Posted: Sat, Jun 13, 2009, 6:26 AM ET (1026 GMT)
STS-127: logo (NASA) NASA postponed Saturday's launch of the space shuttle Endeavour after detecting a hydrogen leak several hours before the scheduled liftoff time. Endeavour was on track to launch on mission STS-127 at 7:17 am EDT (1117 GMT) Saturday when a leak developed in a gaseous hydrogen venting system on the shuttle's external tank, a leak similar to one that delayed the launch of the STS-119 mission earlier this year. The launch is now postponed to no earlier than Wednesday June 17; an updated launch time will be announced Sunday after engineers examine the leak. Currently the 17th is reserved for the launch of NASA's LRO and LCROSS lunar missions on an Atlas 5. Endeavour needs to launch by June 20 or it will have to stand down until July 11.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC revokes Starlink subsidies
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

SpaceX hits 3,000 Starlink satellites launched
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:28 PM ET (1628 GMT)

China launches 16 remote sensing satellites
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:27 PM ET (1627 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 18
A private company wants to look for life just above Venus
Popular Science — 6:15 am ET (1015 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list