spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA tests alternative launch abort system
Posted: Thu, Jul 9, 2009, 6:31 AM ET (1031 GMT)
MLAS test launch (NASA) NASA carried out a successful test of a proposed alternative launch abort system for its Orion spacecraft on Wednesday. The Max Launch Abort System (MLAS) test took place Wednesday at 6:26 am EDT (1026 GMT) from NASA's Wallops Flight Facility in Virginia. Four solid rocket motors boosted a capsule mockup to an altitude of one mile, where it then deployed parachutes to descend to a splashdown. The system is an alternative to the launch abort system (LAS) currently being developed for Orion, using a escape tower similar to that used with early capsule designs. Data from the MLAS test, though, could support the development of the LAS and other Orion systems.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list