spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches defense weather satellite
Posted: Sun, Oct 18, 2009, 9:11 PM ET (0111 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of DMSP F18 (ULA) An Atlas 5 launched a military weather satellite Sunday morning from California. The Atlas 5 401 lifted off from a foggy Space Launch Complex-3 at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 12:12 pm EDT (1612 GMT) and placed the DMSP F18 satellite into a Sun-synchronous orbit 18 minutes later. The Lockheed Martin-built spacecraft is latest in a series of Defense Meteorological Satellite Program spacecraft that provide weather data for the Defense Department, replacing one that was launched six years ago.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Astronauts perform second battery replacement spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:26 PM ET (0026 GMT)

SpaceX launches GPS satellite
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:24 PM ET (0024 GMT)

Mars 2020 launch slips
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:22 PM ET (0022 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 3
Sunil Mittal’s Bharti Enterprises emerges top bidder for UK’s OneWeb
The Hindu Business Line — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Why has the UK invested $500m in OneWeb's satellites?
The Daily Telegraph — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list