spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


STS-129 astronauts complete first spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Nov 20, 2009, 6:58 AM ET (1158 GMT)
STS-129: EVA #1 (NASA) Two shuttle astronauts carried out the first spacewalk of the STS-129 mission on Thursday, working ahead of schedule and performing additional work. Astronauts Mike Foreman and Robert Satcher completed the 6-hour, 37-minute spacewalk at 4:01 pm EST (2101 GMT), completing all their planned tasks while working at times well ahead of schedule. That work included the installation of a new S-band antenna and miscellaneous repair work. The two had time to perform an additional "get ahead" task, installation of a Payload Attach System on the station's truss, which had been planned for the mission's second spacewalk. Thursday's spacewalk was the first of three planned for the mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 1


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list