spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Former Soviet cosmonaut Feoktistov dies
Posted: Tue, Nov 24, 2009, 6:07 AM ET (1107 GMT)
Konstantin Feoktistov, a Soviet spacecraft designer and member of the first three-man space mission, passed away Saturday at the age of 83. Feoktistov, a civilian engineer and spacecraft designer, flew on the Voskhod 1 in 1964, the first spacecraft with a three-man crew. Feoktistov also had the distinction of being the only cosmonaut before the fall of the Soviet Union who was not a member of the Communist Party. While medical issues prevented him from flying in space again, he did work on the design of future vehicles, including the Soyuz spacecraft and Salyut and Mir space stations.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Electron launches Capella Space satellites
Posted: Wed, Mar 22 9:25 PM ET (0125 GMT)

China launches geostationary imaging satellites
Posted: Wed, Mar 22 9:21 PM ET (0121 GMT)

China launches experimental satellite
Posted: Wed, Mar 22 9:20 PM ET (0120 GMT)

news links
Thursday, March 23
Virgin Orbit to Resume Operations as Funding Search Continues
Wall Street Journal — 7:18 am ET (1118 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list