spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts perform final STS-129 EVA
Posted: Tue, Nov 24, 2009, 6:18 AM ET (1118 GMT)
STS-129: EVA #3 (NASA) Two astronauts breezed through the third and final spacewalk of the STS-129 shuttle mission to the ISS on Monday. Randy Bresnik and Robert Satcher Jr. spent 5 hours and 42 minutes outside the station on Monday's spacewalk, which ended on scheduled at 2:06 pm EST (1906 GMT) even though it started late because of a problem with a drinking water valve in Satcher's suit. The two were still able to wrap up all their planned work, including the installation of a high-pressure oxygen tank dubbed a "doghouse" on the airlock. The two also performed miscellaneous other tasks, ranging from the installation of a materials experiment on the station's exterior to attachments of debris shields and covers. Hatches between the station and shuttle will close later today in preparation for Wednesday's undocking of the shuttle.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches 50th Electron
Posted: Sun, Jun 23 11:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches Astra 1P
Posted: Sun, Jun 23 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)

Isar Aerospace raises $70 million
Posted: Sun, Jun 23 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, June 25
NASA and NOAA to send up final GOES weather satellite
Spectrum News — 4:43 am ET (0843 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list