spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches European satellite
Posted: Wed, Nov 25, 2009, 11:02 AM ET (1602 GMT)
Proton launch of Eutelsat W7 (ILS) After a one-day delay caused by a dispute between Russian and Kazakh officials, a Proton rocket successfully launched a European communications satellite Tuesday. The Proton M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 9:19 am EST (1419 GMT, 8:19 pm local time) Tuesday and placed the Eutelsat W7 satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit a little over nine hours later. The satellite, a Spacebus 4000 C4 built by Thales Alenia Space, weighed 5,627 kilograms at launch and will operate up to 70 Ku-band transponders. The spacecraft will be co-located with the Eutelsat W4 satellite at 36 degrees east in GEO to provide video services for Russia and sub-Saharan Africa. The launch had been scheduled for Monday but was postponed because Kazakh officials withheld approval for the launch because of a dispute over paperwork with Russian space agency officials.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Iceye raises $93 million
Posted: Sat, Apr 20 10:28 AM ET (1428 GMT)

NASA seeks revamp of Mars Sample Return program
Posted: Sat, Apr 20 10:26 AM ET (1426 GMT)

NASA confirms ISS debris hit Florida house
Posted: Sat, Apr 20 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)

news links


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list