spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Japan launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 28, 2009, 8:07 PM ET (0107 GMT)
H-2A launch on flight 4 (NASDA) An H-2 rocket placed a Japanese reconnaissance satellite into orbit on Saturday. The H-2A rocket lifted off at 8:21 pm EST Friday (0121 GMT, 10:21 am local time Saturday) from the Tanegashima Space Center in southern Japan and placed into orbit the fifth Intelligence Gathering Satellite (IGS) for the Japanese military. The launch was carried out by the Japanese space agency JAXA, but without the fanfare and publicity of civilian launches; Japanese government officials declared the launch a success without providing additional details. The IGS spacecraft is designed to provide high-resolution imagery for the Japanese military.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Shenzhou-15 crewed mission to space station
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:29 AM ET (1529 GMT)

Vega C to launch five Copernicus missions
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

Cargo Dragon sent to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 3 10:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)

news links


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list