spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Japan launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 28, 2009, 8:07 PM ET (0107 GMT)
H-2A launch on flight 4 (NASDA) An H-2 rocket placed a Japanese reconnaissance satellite into orbit on Saturday. The H-2A rocket lifted off at 8:21 pm EST Friday (0121 GMT, 10:21 am local time Saturday) from the Tanegashima Space Center in southern Japan and placed into orbit the fifth Intelligence Gathering Satellite (IGS) for the Japanese military. The launch was carried out by the Japanese space agency JAXA, but without the fanfare and publicity of civilian launches; Japanese government officials declared the launch a success without providing additional details. The IGS spacecraft is designed to provide high-resolution imagery for the Japanese military.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin postpones first New Glenn launch to late 2022
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Virgin Galactic again delays SpaceShipTwo flights
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)

China launches ocean reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, March 2
Spire Global Merges with NavSight Holdings to go Public
WashingtonExec — 4:42 am ET (0942 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list