spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 set for inaugural launch
Posted: Thu, Jun 3, 2010, 8:43 PM ET (0043 GMT)
Falcon 9 hotfire on pad (SpaceX) SpaceX officials said Thursday everything is ready for Friday's planned test launch of the first Falcon 9 rocket. In a teleconference Thursday officials said that last hurdle for the launch, Air Force approval of a flight termination system for the rocket, had been cleared, and they were ready to attempt a launch in a four-hour window that opens at 11 am EDT (1500 GMT) Friday; a backup opportunity is Saturday. The Falcon 9 is designed to carry much larger spacecraft than the smaller Falcon 1 rocket the company previously developed. A key role for the vehicle will be to launch SpaceX's Dragon spacecraft, designed to carry cargo to the International Space Station and, later, possibly astronauts as well. SpaceX, which has spent about $400 million developing the Falcon 9, Dragon, and other systems, hopes to be able to provide launch services at a fraction of the cost of existing vehicles.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches second pair of TROPICS cubesats
Posted: Sat, May 27 11:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Virgin Galactic conducts first suborbital spaceflight since 2021
Posted: Sat, May 27 10:56 AM ET (1456 GMT)

South Korea launches eight satellites on KSLV-2
Posted: Sat, May 27 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 30
Shenzhou 16 lifts off with China’s first civilian astronaut on board
South China Morning Post — 5:34 am ET (0934 GMT)
North Korea says "reconnaissance satellite" to be launched in June
Kyodo International — 5:30 am ET (0930 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list