spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches broadband satellite
Posted: Mon, Nov 15, 2010, 6:07 AM ET (1107 GMT)
Proton launch of SkyTerra-1 (ILS) A Proton rocket successfully launched Sunday a satellite designed to provide wireless broadband service in the US. The Proton M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 12:29 pm EST (1729 GMT, 11:29 pm local time) Sunday and released the SkyTerra 1 satellite into a geosynchronous transfer orbit a little over nine hours later. The satellite, a Boeing 702HP weighing 5,360 kilograms at launch, will operate from 101.3 degrees west in GEO. The spacecraft will deploy a 22-meter L-band antenna that will be used by Virginia-based LightSquared to provide 4G wireless communications in conjunction with a terrestrial network in the United States. The launch was the seventh commercial Proton launch of 2010 and the tenth overall this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Wentian space station module
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:58 PM ET (2258 GMT)

SpaceX performs two Starlink launches
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:53 PM ET (2253 GMT)

European, Russian ISS crewmembers perform spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:48 PM ET (2248 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, August 10
Viasat / Inmarsat merger inquiry
UK Competition and Markets Authority — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
CMA adds heat to Viasat, Inmarsat merger
Mobile World Live — 6:26 am ET (1026 GMT)
Inmarsat deal to be investigated
The Times of London — 6:25 am ET (1025 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list