spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches communications satellite
Posted: Thu, Nov 25, 2010, 9:34 AM ET (1434 GMT)
Long March 3A launch of Shen Tong-1 (Xinhua) China launched Thursday a communications satellite believed to be dedicated to military applications. The Long March 3A rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 11:09 am EST Wednesday (1609 GMT Wednesday, 12:09 am Beijing time Thursday) and placed the Zhongxing-20A satellite into orbit. Official Chinese media accounts said that the satellite would be used for radio and television broadcasts from GEO, but other sources suggested that the spacecraft, also known as Shen Tong-1, would be used for secure Ku-band military communications for China's People's Liberation Army.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Reused Falcon 9 launched GPS satellite
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:32 PM ET (2132 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:30 PM ET (2130 GMT)

Chinese crew launches to space station
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:29 PM ET (2129 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 21
FAA Defends SpaceX To Congress
AVWeb — 5:22 am ET (0922 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list