spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA postpones shuttle launch to at least mid-December
Posted: Thu, Nov 25, 2010, 9:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)
STS-133: logo (NASA) NASA shuttle managers announced Wednesday they were delaying the launch of the shuttle Discovery once again, this time to no earlier than mid-December, as they continue work on repairs to its external tank. Discovery is now slated to launch no earlier than 8:51 pm EST December 17 (0151 GMT December 18), but no firm date for the launch has been set. Managers said they need more time to evaluate repairs to two cracked aluminum brackets, or "stringers", found in the shuttle's external tank while replacing insulating foam. Discovery had been slated to launch in early November on mission STS-133 but was delayed by several issues, including a leaking hydrogen vent line that has seen been repaired. A launch in the mid-December win, which runs through December 20, would mean the shuttle would be in orbit over Christmas.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Sunday, June 26


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list