spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches Dragon
Posted: Wed, Dec 8, 2010, 1:53 PM ET (1853 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of 1st Dragon spacecraft (NASA/KSC) A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket successfully placed a Dragon cargo spacecraft into orbit on Wednesday morning. The Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape Canaveral at 10:43 am EST (1543 GMT), after a launch attempt about an hour and a half earlier was aborted because of a technical glitch. The Falcon 9 placed into orbit the first Dragon spacecraft, a test of future capsules designed to deliver cargo, and perhaps eventually crews, to the International Space Station. The Dragon will remain in orbit for several hours before reentering and splashing down off the California coast. The launch was the second for the Falcon 9, after it placed a boilerplate Dragon into orbit on the inaugural Falcon 9 launch six months ago.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship prototype makes first hop test
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:39 PM ET (2139 GMT)

Crew Dragon splashes down successfully
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:38 PM ET (2138 GMT)

Rocket Lab identifies cause of Electron failure
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:35 PM ET (2135 GMT)

news links
Friday, August 7
SpaceX Has Successful Overnight Starlink Mission Launch
Spectrum News — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list