spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle rolled back to VAB
Posted: Wed, Dec 22, 2010, 11:02 AM ET (1602 GMT)
STS-133: Discovery rollback to VAB (NASA/KSC) NASA moved the space shuttle Discovery back to the Vehicle Assembly Building (VAB) in the early morning hours Wednesday to perform additional tests on its external tank. Discovery left pad 39A at the Kennedy Space Center at approximately 10:50 pm EST Tuesday (0350 GMT Wednesday), arriving back inside the VAB about eight hours later. The rollback had been planned for early Tuesday but was postponed because of a technical problem with the crawler used to transport the shuttle. Discovery will remain in the VAB until about mid-January to allow technicians to perform additional x-rays and other examinations of its external tank in an effort to understand why two aluminum brackets in the tank cracked. Discovery is now slated to launch on mission STS-133 no earlier than February 3.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list