spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Discovery lands for the final time
Posted: Wed, Mar 9, 2011, 2:13 PM ET (1913 GMT)
STS-133: landing (NASA) The space shuttle Discovery landed safely at the Kennedy Space Center in Florida on Wednesday, wrapping up its 39th and final mission. Discovery landed on the Shuttle Landing Facility runway at KSC at 11:57 am EST (1657 GMT) on its first landing opportunity after a normal reentry. The landing wraps up the career of Discovery, the oldest of NASA's three active shuttle orbiters, as the agency retires the shuttle fleet this year. Discovery spent 365 days in space over 39 missions, logging over 238.5 million kilometers in orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list