spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Endeavour rolled out to pad for its final launch
Posted: Fri, Mar 11, 2011, 6:37 AM ET (1137 GMT)
STS-134: rollout (NASA/KSC) The space shuttle Endeavour rolled out to the launch pad Thursday night in preparation for its final mission, scheduled for launch next month. Endeavour, attached to its external tank and two solid rocket boosters, left the Vehicle Assembly Building at 7:56 pm EST Thursday (0056 GMT Friday) and arrived at the Pad 39A about eight hours later. Endeavour is scheduled to launch on mission STS-134 on April 19. The launch, the last scheduled mission for Endeavour, will deliver the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer instrument to the ISS. Separately, sources said Thursday that Rep. Gabrielle Giffords, wife of mission commander Mark Kelly, plans to attend the launch. Giffords was shot and critically wounded in Tucson two months ago, and is currently undergoing rehabilitation at a Houston hospital.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list