spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 4 launches NRO satellite
Posted: Sat, Mar 12, 2011, 9:35 AM ET (1435 GMT)
Delta 4 launch of NROL-27 (ULA) A Delta 4 rocket successfully launched a classified satellite for the National Reconnaissance Office (NRO) on Friday evening. The Delta 4 Medium+ (4,2) lifted off from Space Launch Complex-37 at Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 6:38 pm EST (2338 GMT) Friday, after an approximately 40-minute delay because of high upper-level winds. The mission, designated NROL-27 or "Gryphon", carried a classified NRO satellite, and no details about the launch were released beyond that it was considered a success. Observers speculate that the spacecraft is a communications satellite designed to relay data from other NRO satellites.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Voyager Space Holdings to take majority stake in Nanoracks
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

SLS upper stage passes review
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 21
EU signs contracts for 12 new satellites
Brussels Times — 6:11 am ET (1111 GMT)
Space Force Receives Fifth SBIRS Satellite
National Defense Magazine — 6:11 am ET (1111 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list