spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches Earth sciences satellite
Posted: Fri, Jun 10, 2011, 8:26 PM ET (0026 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of Aquarius (ULA) A Delta 2 rocket successfully placed a joint American-Argentine Earth sciences satellite into orbit Friday morning. The Delta 2 7320-10 lifted off from Space Launch Complex-2W at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 10:20 am EDT (1420 GMT) Friday and released the Aquarius/SAC-D satellite into a sun-synchronous orbit nearly an hour later. The satellite, a joint project of NASA and the Argentine space agency CONAE, will study ocean salinity and its link to global climate. The launch was postponed one day to perform additional checks of the rocket's guidance computer after a wind profile used to guide the rocket through the atmosphere had been incorrectly loaded.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list