spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches six Globalstar satellites
Posted: Thu, Dec 29, 2011, 7:37 AM ET (1237 GMT)
Soyuz 2-1a launch of Globalstar satellites Dec 2011 (Arianespace) Less than a week after one Soyuz rocket failed, another successfully placed six Globalstar satellites into orbit on Wednesday. The Soyuz 2-1a rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 12:09 pm EST (1709 GMT, 11:09 pm local time) Wednesday and released six Globalstar satellites into low Earth orbits an hour and a half later. The six satellites, each weighing 650 kilograms and built by Thales Alenia Space, are the third batch of second-generation Globalstar satellites placed into orbit. They replace the original satellites that were launched over a decade ago and since suffered failures of S-band transponders, preventing them from relaying phone calls. A final group of six satellites will launch in the first half of 2012. The launch took place just five days after another Soyuz rocket failed to place a Meridian communications satellite into orbit after an upper stage malfunction; this Soyuz used a a different upper stage engine.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 17
Colorado Springs becoming the hub for directing traffic in space
Colorado Springs Gazette — 5:49 am ET (1049 GMT)
If You Want To Go Far, Go Together
Harvard Crimson — 5:48 am ET (1048 GMT)
UAE sees earth-bound purposes in outer space
Asia Times — 5:45 am ET (1045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list