spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress undocks from ISS
Posted: Tue, Jan 24, 2012, 7:35 AM ET (1235 GMT)
A Progress cargo spacecraft undocked from the ISS on Monday, clearing the way for the launch of a new vehicle. The Progress M-13M spacecraft undocked from the station's Pirs module at 5:10 pm EST (2210 GMT) Monday and raised its orbit to an altitude of 500 kilometers early Tuesday. At that higher orbit the Progress will deploy a small satellite, Chibis-M, late Tuesday. The 34-kilogram satellite, attached to the side of the Progress, will be used to perform observations of gamma- and X-rays in the Earth's upper atmosphere. The Progress will then fire its thrusters again to deorbit. A new Progress spacecraft, Progress M-14M, is scheduled for launch early Thursday from Baikonur.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin, SpaceX, ULA win military launch contracts
Posted: Sun, Jun 16 10:17 AM ET (1417 GMT)

Voyager 1 returning science data again
Posted: Sun, Jun 16 10:14 AM ET (1414 GMT)

ISS spacewalks postponed
Posted: Sun, Jun 16 10:11 AM ET (1411 GMT)

news links
Friday, June 21
ASTRA 1P communications satellite successfully launched
Thales Alenia Space — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Rocket Lab celebrates its 50th launch - and 46th from Mahia
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:33 am ET (1033 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list