spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Strongest solar storm in over six years heads towards Earth
Posted: Tue, Jan 24, 2012, 7:48 AM ET (1248 GMT)
Solar storm on 2012 January 23 (NASA) The most powerful solar storm since 2005 erupted on the Sun late Sunday, which is expected to trigger a geomagnetic storm at Earth on Tuesday. The M8.7-class solar flare erupted on the Sun at around 11 pm EST Sunday (0400 GMT Monday) and was the strongest recorded since September 2005. Charged particles associated with the flare are expected to reach Earth early Tuesday, creating a geomagnetic storm. That storm could result in bright auroral displays at latitudes lower than normal, and could disrupt some communications. The storm is not expected to pose a risk to the crew of the International Space Station. Solar activity in recent days has created aurorae widely visible from North America and northern Europe.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 20
Former SPAC Astra is Once Again a Private Company
ViaSatellite — 9:12 pm ET (0112 GMT)
California brushes off Elon Musk's plans to move X, SpaceX to Texas
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)
Elon Musk faces backlash over Boca Chica's 'Starbase, Texas' rebrand
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list