spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches Shenzhou 9
Posted: Sat, Jun 16, 2012, 9:12 AM ET (1312 GMT)
Long March 2F launch Shenzhou 9 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket successfully launched Saturday a spacecraft carrying three astronauts, including China's first female astronaut, on a mission to dock with an experimental space lab module. The Long March 2F rocket lifted off at 6:37 am EDT (1037 GMT, 6:37 pm Beijing time) Saturday and placed the Shenzhou 9 spacecraft into orbit about nine minutes later. The spacecraft is carrying a three person crew of Jing Haipeng, Liu Wang, and China's first woman in space, Liu Yang. Shenzhou 9 will dock in a few days with the Tiangong-1 module launched last year on a mission expected to last about two weeks.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list