spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


X-37B lands at Vandenberg
Posted: Sun, Jun 17, 2012, 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)
X-37B OTV-2 landing (US Air Force) An experimental robotic spaceplane completed a 15-month mission on Saturday with a landing at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. The X-37B OTV-2 landed successfully on the main runway at Vandenberg at 5:48 am PDT (8:48 am EDT, 1248 GMT) Saturday. The vehicle had been in space 469 days, since its launch in early March of 2011 on an Atlas 5 rocket from Florida. The Air Force has not disclosed the nature of the X-37B's mission other than that it performs "risk reduction, experimentation and concept of operations development" for reusable launch vehicle technologies. This is the second X-37B to fly in space. The first X-37B spent 224 days in space in 2010 and is being prepared for another launch this fall.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 5
SpaceX to launch communications satellite from Cape Canaveral
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:36 am ET (1236 GMT)
SpaceX rockets power record number of satellite launches
Financial Times — 7:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list