spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 16, 2012, 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of NROL-36 (ULA) A long-delayed Atlas 5 finally lifted off Thursday afternoon, placing a classified satellite and several small secondary payloads into orbit. The Atlas 5 401 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 5:39 pm EDT (2139 GMT) Thursday on a mission designated NROL-36 for the National Reconnaissance Office (NRO). While the payload remains classified, outside observers believe it is the latest pair of satellites for the Naval Ocean Surveillance System. The Atlas 5 also carried 11 small CubeSats provided by various organizations and sponsored by the NRO and NASA. The launch had been planned for early August, but was delayed by problems with ground support equipment at the launch site.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches OneWeb satellites
Posted: Sat, Oct 16 6:09 PM ET (2209 GMT)


JWST arrives in French Guiana
Posted: Sat, Oct 16 5:56 PM ET (2156 GMT)

news links
Monday, October 25
SpaceX fires up first upgraded Starship engine
Teslarati — 8:51 pm ET (0051 GMT)
Jeff Bezos’ Blue Origin Pursues Private Space Station
Wall Street Journal — 8:49 pm ET (0049 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list