spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches fourth ATV cargo spacecraft
Posted: Thu, Jun 6, 2013, 9:29 AM ET (1329 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of ATV-4 (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 launched the fourth in a series of European cargo spacecraft bound for the International Space Station on Wednesday. The Ariane 5 ES lifted off on schedule at 5:52 pm EDT (2152 GMT) Wednesday and placed the Automated Transfer Vehicle 4 (ATV-4) into low Earth orbit. The spacecraft, nicknamed Albert Einstein, weighed a record 20,190 kilograms at launch, and carries nearly 6,600 kilograms of food, water, propellant, and other cargo for the ISS. ATV-4 is scheduled to dock with the station on June 15. The spacecraft is the next to last in a series of cargo spacecraft provided by ESA as part of its commitments to support ISS operations.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
IM-1 lands on the Moon but falls on its side
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 9:46 AM ET (1446 GMT)

Long March 5 launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 9:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites from Vandenberg
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 9:36 AM ET (1436 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, February 27


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list