spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cosmonauts complete ISS spacewalk
Posted: Tue, Jun 25, 2013, 7:58 AM ET (1158 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2013 June 24 (NASA) Two Russian cosmonauts carried out a spacewalk outside the International Space Station on Monday to continue preparations for the arrival of a new Russian module. Fyodor Yurchikhin and Alexander Misurkin finished a six-hour, 34-minute spacewalk at 4:06 pm EDT (2006 GMT) Monday, an hour and a half longer than originally planned. The main purpose of the spacewalk was to continue preparations to replace the station's existing Pirs airlock module with a new multipurpose module slated for launch later this year, installing clamps for future power cables that will be routed to the module. Placement of the clamps took longer than expected, extending the spacewalk. The two also performed preventative maintenance on the cooling system of the Zarya module and retrieved experiments from the station's exterior.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Monday, September 26
What is the SpaceX Starship?
Fast Company — 5:31 am ET (0931 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list