spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Power failure delays NASA space science launch
Posted: Wed, Jun 26, 2013, 9:11 AM ET (1311 GMT)
The launch of a small NASA space science satellite has been postponed a day because of a power failure at the launch site. NASA had planned to launch the Interface Region Imaging Spectrograph (IRIS) spacecraft Wednesday on a Pegasus XL, air-launched from an aircraft taking off from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. However, a power failure at the base earlier in the week means that some facilities there will not be available to support the launch on Wednesday. NASA is now planning the launch for Thursday at 10:27 pm EDT (0227 GMT Friday). The spacecraft will study a region of the Sun's atmosphere that heats the solar corona to temperatures of millions of degrees.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC revokes Starlink subsidies
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

SpaceX hits 3,000 Starlink satellites launched
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:28 PM ET (1628 GMT)

China launches 16 remote sensing satellites
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:27 PM ET (1627 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 18
A private company wants to look for life just above Venus
Popular Science — 6:15 am ET (1015 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list