spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Pegasus launches IRIS
Posted: Fri, Jun 28, 2013, 8:17 AM ET (1217 GMT)
Pegasus XL launch of IRIS (NASA) A Pegasus rocket successfully launched on Thursday evening a small NASA satellite designed to study the Sun. The Pegasus XL rocket was released by its L-1011 carrier aircraft off the coast of California and ignited its rocket motors at 10:27 pm EDT Thursday (0227 GMT Friday), placing the 200-kilogram Interface Region Imaging Spectrograph (IRIS) spacecraft into sun-synchronous orbit 13 minutes later. IRIS will study a region of the Sun's atmosphere that heats the solar corona to temperatures of millions of degrees. The launch is the 42nd for the Pegasus, dating back more than two decades; there are currently no future Pegasus launches scheduled.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 5
Virgin Orbit’s Next Rocket Ready for Cornwall
Business Wire — 6:10 am ET (1010 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list