spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton rocket crashes after liftoff
Posted: Tue, Jul 2, 2013, 7:47 AM ET (1147 GMT)
Proton M launch failure on 2013 July 2 A Proton rocket carrying three GLONASS satellites crashed seconds after liftoff from Baikonur on Tuesday, the latest in a series of failures for the Russian rocket. The Proton-M lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 10:38 pm EDT Monday (0238 GMT, 8:28 am local time Tuesday) on a mission to place three GLONASS navigation satellites into orbit. However, the rocket lost control seconds after liftoff, veering to the side before crashing to the ground a short distance from the launch site. No injuries have been reported from the crash. The failure is the latest for the Proton, which has suffered several failures in recent years, typically involving problems with its upper stage.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, September 22
Rocket Lab to launch ‘sustainable space’ demonstration satellite
Long Beach (CA) Business Journal — 6:01 am ET (1001 GMT)
Second pad work resumes, space junk clean up announced
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:01 am ET (1001 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list