spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Water leak in spacesuit cuts short spacewalk
Posted: Wed, Jul 17, 2013, 6:45 AM ET (1045 GMT)
Astronauts after ISS EVA on 2013 July 16 (NASA) A dangerous buildup of water in an Italian astronaut's spacesuit forced NASA to end a spacewalk outside the International Space Station just over an hour and a half after it started Tuesday morning. Christopher Cassidy and Luca Parmitano started the spacewalk, the second in as many weeks, at 7:57 am EDT (1157 GMT), with plans to spend six hours performing some maintenance work outside the station. However, shortly after the spacewalk started Parmitano reported feeling water inside his helmet, with that water building up as the EVa progressed. Station managers cut short the spacewalk, fearing the water buildup could be dangerous to Parmitano. The EVA ended 92 minutes after it started, with the two astronauts safely back inside the station. Station officials said the cause of the water leaking in Parmitano's helmet is not clear, and likely is not from a bag of drinking water in the helmet.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches 50th Electron
Posted: Sun, Jun 23 11:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches Astra 1P
Posted: Sun, Jun 23 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)

Isar Aerospace raises $70 million
Posted: Sun, Jun 23 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, June 25
Space Force, NASA Deals Power Parabilis
San Diego Business Journal — 5:06 am ET (0906 GMT)
Space Command Preparing Data Fusion Pilot Program
Aviation Week — 5:05 am ET (0905 GMT)
Boeing's Starliner: A Cautionary Investor's Tale
Forbes.com — 5:02 am ET (0902 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list