spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


GOCE satellite reenters; no damage reported
Posted: Mon, Nov 11, 2013, 6:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)
GOCE illustration (ESA) An ESA satellite whose orbit had been decaying for several weeks reentered Sunday night, with no signs of damage from falling debris. The Gravity field and steady-state Ocean Circulation Explorer, or GOCE, satellite reentered around 7:00 pm EST Sunday (0000 GMT Monday) during an segment of its orbit that primarily took it over parts of the Pacific and Indian Oceans, as well as Antarctica. Officials did not provide a more precise reentry time, but noted there was no reports of any damage caused by debris from the spacecraft, or eyewitness accounts of its reentry. The one-ton satellite, launched in 2009 to study the Earth's gravity field, maintained a low orbit through the use of ion thrusters. GOCE exhausted its supply of xenon propellant for those thrusters last month, causing the spacecraft's orbit to decay.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:07 AM ET (1607 GMT)

China launches lunar sample return mission
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

Relativity Space raises $500 million
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, December 2
Third Accident Strikes Arecibo Observatory
Aviation Week — 6:48 am ET (1148 GMT)
China’s Chang’e 5 mission has successfully landed on the moon
Technology Review — 6:47 am ET (1147 GMT)
China Space Agency: Lunar Probe Successfully Lands on Moon
Voice of America — 6:44 am ET (1144 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list