spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches MAVEN
Posted: Mon, Nov 18, 2013, 4:18 PM ET (2118 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of MAVEN (J. Foust) An Atlas 5 rocket successfully launched NASA's latest Mars spacecraft on Monday. The Atlas 5 401 lifted off on schedule at 1:28 pm EST (1828 GMT) Monday from Launch Complex 41 at Cape Canaveral, Florida, and the MAVEN spacecraft separated from the Centaur upper stage nearly 53 minutes later, on course for Mars. There were no major technical issues during the countdown and inclement weather held off. MAVEN (Mars Atmosphere and Volatile EvolutioN) will enter an elliptical orbit around Mars in September, beginning a mission to study the planet's upper atmosphere and how the planet may have lost the warmer, thicker atmosphere it had early in its history.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:07 AM ET (1607 GMT)

China launches lunar sample return mission
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

Relativity Space raises $500 million
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, December 2
Third Accident Strikes Arecibo Observatory
Aviation Week — 6:48 am ET (1148 GMT)
China’s Chang’e 5 mission has successfully landed on the moon
Technology Review — 6:47 am ET (1147 GMT)
China Space Agency: Lunar Probe Successfully Lands on Moon
Voice of America — 6:44 am ET (1144 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list