spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Indian Mars mission leaves Earth orbit
Posted: Sun, Dec 1, 2013, 9:30 AM ET (1430 GMT)
India Mars Orbiter Mission spacecraft illus. (ISRO) India's first Mars mission fired its main engine early Sunday to boost the spacecraft into a Mars-bound trajectory. The Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM), launched November 5 into a parking orbit around the Earth, performed the last of a series of maneuvers at 2:19 pm EST Saturday (1919 GMT Saturday, 12:49 am Indian time Sunday), firing its engine for 22 minutes. The burn placed the spacecraft into a trans-Mars trajectory, arriving at Mars in September. MOM, also known as Mangalyaan, had performed six maneuvers prior to Sunday's to raise its orbit. At Mars, MOM will go into an elliptical orbit, studying the planet's surface and atmosphere.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Astronauts perform second battery replacement spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:26 PM ET (0026 GMT)

SpaceX launches GPS satellite
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:24 PM ET (0024 GMT)

Mars 2020 launch slips
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:22 PM ET (0022 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 3
Sunil Mittal’s Bharti Enterprises emerges top bidder for UK’s OneWeb
The Hindu Business Line — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Why has the UK invested $500m in OneWeb's satellites?
The Daily Telegraph — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list