spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts successfully complete first ISS coolant system repair spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Dec 22, 2013, 11:06 AM ET (1606 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2013 December 21 (NASA) Two American astronauts finished the first phase of repairs of a coolant system on the International Space Station by removing a faulty pump unit during an EVA on Saturday. Rick Mastracchio and Mike Hopkins, working ahead of schedule for most of the day, completed the 5-hour, 28-minute spacewalk at 12:29 pm EST (1729 GMT). The two successfully removed a coolant pump unit that suffered a valve problem earlier this month. While finishing their tasks ahead of schedule, the astronauts decided not to press ahead with additional tasks after Mastracchio reported some discomfort in his suit, including cold feet. After reentering the airlock, a "spacesuit configuration" issue in Mastracchio's suit raised concerns water may have gotten into a suit component. As a result, the second spacewalk to continue the pump replacement work has been pushed back from Monday to Tuesday. If the second EVA goes well, a third spacewalk to complete the coolant repairs may not be needed.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab launches 50th Electron
Posted: Sun, Jun 23 11:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches Astra 1P
Posted: Sun, Jun 23 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)

Isar Aerospace raises $70 million
Posted: Sun, Jun 23 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, June 25
The mystery of black matter
Univ. of Warsaw — 4:30 am ET (0830 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list