spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches four O3b satellites
Posted: Fri, Jul 11, 2014, 7:20 AM ET (1120 GMT)
Soyuz ST-B launch of 2nd O3b satellites (Arianespace) A Soyuz rocket successfully placed into orbit Thursday a second set of four broadband communications satellites. A Soyuz ST-B rocket lifted off from the European spaceport at Kourou, French Guiana, on schedule at 2:55 pm EDT (1855 GMT) Thursday. Its Fregat upper stage released the four O3b Networks satellites into equatorial orbits at an altitude of about 8,000 kilometers a little more than two hours later. The satellites, built by Thales Alenia Space and weighing about 700 kilograms each, join four other satellites launched last year to provide broadband Internet access to underserved regions of the globe. A third set of four satellites is planned for launch early next year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Wentian space station module
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:58 PM ET (2258 GMT)

SpaceX performs two Starlink launches
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:53 PM ET (2253 GMT)

European, Russian ISS crewmembers perform spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:48 PM ET (2248 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, August 10
Viasat / Inmarsat merger inquiry
UK Competition and Markets Authority — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
CMA adds heat to Viasat, Inmarsat merger
Mobile World Live — 6:26 am ET (1026 GMT)
Inmarsat deal to be investigated
The Times of London — 6:25 am ET (1025 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list