spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather delays Antares launch to Sunday
Posted: Sat, Jul 12, 2014, 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)
Antares on pad before Orb-2 launch (J. Foust) Stormy weather on the Virginia coast this week has delayed the launch of a commercial cargo mission to the ISS until Sunday. The launch of the Cygnus spacecraft on an Antares launch vehicle was scheduled for Friday, but was delayed first to Saturday and then to Sunday because of storms at the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport (MARS) in Virginia that delayed launch preparations. The launch is now scheduled for 12:52 pm EDT (1652 GMT) Sunday, with good weather forecast. The Cygnus is carrying more than 1,660 kilograms of cargo to the International Space Station on the second of eight cargo missions contracted with NASA. If the Cygnus successfully launches Sunday, it will arrive at the ISS early July 16.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list