spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches four O3b satellites
Posted: Fri, Jul 11, 2014, 7:20 AM ET (1120 GMT)
Soyuz ST-B launch of 2nd O3b satellites (Arianespace) A Soyuz rocket successfully placed into orbit Thursday a second set of four broadband communications satellites. A Soyuz ST-B rocket lifted off from the European spaceport at Kourou, French Guiana, on schedule at 2:55 pm EDT (1855 GMT) Thursday. Its Fregat upper stage released the four O3b Networks satellites into equatorial orbits at an altitude of about 8,000 kilometers a little more than two hours later. The satellites, built by Thales Alenia Space and weighing about 700 kilograms each, join four other satellites launched last year to provide broadband Internet access to underserved regions of the globe. A third set of four satellites is planned for launch early next year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Astronauts perform second battery replacement spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:26 PM ET (0026 GMT)

SpaceX launches GPS satellite
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:24 PM ET (0024 GMT)

Mars 2020 launch slips
Posted: Thu, Jul 2 8:22 PM ET (0022 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 3
Sunil Mittal’s Bharti Enterprises emerges top bidder for UK’s OneWeb
The Hindu Business Line — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Why has the UK invested $500m in OneWeb's satellites?
The Daily Telegraph — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list