spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Long March 5 returns to flight
Posted: Tue, Dec 31, 2019, 1:43 PM ET (1843 GMT)
Long March 5 return to flight, Dec 2019 (Xinhua) China's Long March 5 returned to flight early Dec. 27. The rocket lifted off from the Wenchang Satellite Launch Center at 7:45 am EST (1245 GMT), deploying the Shijian-20 experimental communications satellite into orbit 40 minutes later. The launch was the first for the heavy-lift rocket since a July 2017 launch failure. The rocket is a critical element of China's future space plans, with launches scheduled in mid-2020 of a Mars orbiter and lander, followed in late 2020 by a lunar sample return mission. A variant of the Long March 5 needed for launching space station modules will also be tested next year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 16
NM delegation urges Space Force to utilize state assets
Albuquerque Journal — 8:18 am ET (1318 GMT)
Results of Starliner Review Expected in February
Air Force Magazine — 8:14 am ET (1314 GMT)
Nasa reaches for the stars with nuclear-propelled spacecraft
The Daily Telegraph — 8:12 am ET (1312 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list